the inner psalmist

the wind runs gently through my hair and for that moment in my car while the rain drips down like saddened tears i am reminded that you are with me and you never have left me no matter how quickly i try to run away.

in my tears when i am worn from the stress of this world. in my pain and sorrow, through the questioning of existence, when i want to crawl into a pit and just give up…you are with me.

when the lies in my head about myself come true and the physical scars are seen for the first time even if it is or they are only imaginary…you are with me.

and when i scream out from the bellows of my gut and the chambers of my windpipes and when the darkness of loneliness creeps its way into the rainbow of life…you are with me.

and when i am battered, bruised, defeated and can barely speak a word. when i look around at friendly faces which suddenly become dark and cold staring and pointing at me…you are with me.

when i walk through the darkest of alleys filled with needles of hatred and sexual innuendos from society and when the memories of men breathing fire are chasing me with no escape…you are with me.

when my heart beats so fast with love that i just swear it will beat out of my chest. when i see the true innocence of a child in their eyes which are glazed over with laughter. when the sun rises each day to start everything new…you are with me.

in the calm of the storm, a calm so still it would drive any sane person crazy, but not me i just sit basking in the calm which makes me somewhere in the middle and that is ok…because you are with me.

when my normal isn’t normal any longer and it just becomes me, plain and tall. you are with me not because you have to or want to; you literally need to be with me. you have been with me my whole life, whether i knew it or not.

your love is the only thing this world has to offer with no strings attached, with undeserving grace that showers down with the energy of an april thunderstorm. your love is one of few things that my 10% used human mind can’t comprehend

a love so powerful it can save the world. i don’t know why you are still with me and i never will but i know that for certain…you are with me. and i am humbled to have you in my life.

Leave a comment